Friday, April 15, 2011

The Samuel Johnson Prize longlist announced

The Samuel Johnson Prize for non-fiction longlist has been announced. A list dominated by biographies. The shortlist will be revealed on the 14th of June, while the winner's name will come out of the magic hat on the 6th of July. Here's the list in full:

Tolstoy by Rosamund Bartlett
Afghantsy by Rodric Braithwaite
Through the Language GlassThrough the Language Glass: Why the World Looks Different in Other Languages by Guy Deutscher
The Hare with Amber Eyes by Edmund De Waal
Mao's Great Famine by Frank Dik├Âtter
Caravaggio by Andrew Graham Dixon
Liberty's Exiles by Maya Jasanoff
Capitalism 4.0 by Anatole Kaletsky
Scott-land: The Man Who Invented a Nation by Stuart Kelly
People Who Eat Darkness by Richard Lloyd Parry
The Bridge by David Remnick
The Rational Optimist by Matt Ridley
Bismarck: A Life by Jonathan Steinberg
Reprobates by John Stubbs
Storyteller: The Life of Roald Dahl by Donald Sturrock
Bomber County by Daniel Swift
Sex Before the Sexual Revolution by Simon Szreter and Kate Fisher
Amexica: War Along The Borderline by Ed Vulliamy

No comments: